Turin and Ravenna shortlisted in 'Smart Tourism' Awards

The 2020 European Capital of Smart Tourism competition has moved onto its next stage. Out of 35 applications from across 17 EU Member States, the following 10 cities have been shortlisted to compete for the 2020 European Capital of Smart Tourism title: Turin, Ravenna, Breda, Bratislava, Ljubljana, Bremerhaven, Gothenburg, Karlsruhe, Malaga and Nice.

 The European Capital of Smart Tourism is an EU initiative that rewards cities for their outstanding achievements as smart, innovative, sustainable and inclusive tourism destinations. It aims to promote smart tourism in the EU, enhance networking between destinations and facilitate the exchange of best practices.

 To participate in the competition, European cities were invited to share their exemplary practices implemented in four categories: Accessibility, Sustainability, Digitalisation, Cultural Heritage & Creativity. As a first step, applications were evaluated by a panel of independent experts against a set of established assessment criteria.

 On the basis of their evaluation, a shortlist of 10 cities was established. These finalist cities will be invited to present their candidatures in front of a European Jury, who will select two winners to hold the European Capital of Smart Tourism title in 2020. 

 In addition, cities with the highest scores in the individual categories, based on an evaluation by independent experts, will be recognised with 2020 European Smart Tourism Awards in the four categories.

 All winning cities will be announced and honoured at an Award Ceremony on the occasion of the European Tourism Forum in Helsinki on the 9 - 10 October 2019.